Shift in thoughts

I expected to gain at leat 3-4 pounds from the vacation because I tracked what I ate 5/7 days and added up the calories! Yes, over 3500 a few days!

I weighted today and am back to where I was about 1 month ago which is great.

Since reading the Overeaters Anonymous books plus a bit of the “Beck Diet” I’m noticing a shift in my thoughts. Everything always comes together at once and all the readings plus the blogs I follow I’m in a new place regarding food and weight. It’s a shift, not a total change, but something I noticed and want to share.

It seems lately that it’s not so much the calories and certainly not the weight (which is a huge progressive step for me). It feels like more often than not it’s about the behavior and observing why I eat. The cause, not the symptom. It’s a really new view and sure, it’s not 100% there but at least half of the time I’m there.

I don’t want to be obsessed with food and weight. I’d like to be in a place where I can eat when I’m hungry and not upset, bored, happy, etc. I want to eat to fuel my body, not soothe my mind.

I’m still tracking what I eat because that works for me, and still tracking workouts. This week I’m going to stick to the first few chapters of the Beck Diet and twice daily review my reasons why I want to lose weight, and eat sitting down. I have a few social eating situations this week and I’m prepared for them.

Progress on that as well – it’s not as scary eating out anymore. I don’t feel deprived or upset that I had to order the low cal options. The last few times  I felt PROUD that I stuck to my goal! Yah – big progress for me!

Leave a comment